This School Board derives its legal status from the State Legislature which is subject to the Constitution of the State of Louisiana and the United States. Accordingly, education is a state function. This Board is subject to legislative action and acts as an agent of the state. As this agent, the:

 ". . .boards are therefore public corporations. Their functions are exclusively of a public character, and their acts are performed solely for the public benefit." Bank of Winnfield v. Brumfield, 1929, 11 La. App. 647 124 So. 628.

This district is under the exclusive control and management of a School Board and is a separate school district. This district shall be operated in accordance with constitutional and statutory provisions. Responsibility for interpreting these provisions shall lie with the School Board, except were formal interpretation of such provisions has been made by the courts or other constituted authority.

This Board shall expend local school funds to pay costs and to defend the member(s) and employees and to indemnify School Board members and employees for all awards of damages in any legal action which has arisen as a result of the discharge by the Board members or employees of their official duties; however, local funds shall not be used for such purposes where Board members have engaged in acts of official misconduct or have acted with provable malice toward any individual or with indifference to Board policy.

This School Board is constituted as a corporation as noted:

 "School boards are bodies corporate with power to sue and be sued and are governing authorities of school districts." Hawthorne v. Jackson Parish School Board, 1927, 5. La. App. 508.

Accordingly, the corporate name of this Board shall be the St. Tammany Parish School Board. Unless otherwise designated in official action by the Board, the Board will conduct its business at the School Board Office Building, 212 West 17th Avenue, Covington, Louisiana 70433.

Ref: LA- R.S. 17:51, 17:1371-1373, 1377, 1378, Art. 6, Sec. 44; Constitution of the State of Louisiana of 1974.